2014 in review: A Damn Good Year.

First off, I’d like to apologize for the slow schedule I’m posting things. Right now I work from eight to five and when I get home I’m just too damned burnt out to even edit some of my old work, let alone work on new stuff. That being said, since today is my last chance to sum up 2014, I figure I’ll try to focus on the positives. Actually, fuck it: 2014 was one of the best years for gaming in a long time, contrary to what AAA suckups or rabid leftists would have you believe. Let’s go through the big events of the year, especially the good ones.

IRRATIONAL GAMES SHUTS DOWN

All I can say is thank gnon. Maybe someday I’ll do a more in depth look at Bioshock Infinite, but that game was garbage. Even though System Shock 2 is one of the greatest horror games of all time, and the original Bioshock was a good game, Irrational had long overstayed it’s welcome. Ken Levine essentially confirmed that he had run out of ideas when the Death at Sea DLC was put out, and Irrational going over was almost a merciful end. Oh, and Levine’s creepy fixation with Elizabeth as a daughter figure wasn’t winning any points either.

NEW DOOM GAME ANNOUNCED AT QUAKECON

Id is keeping information on the fourth Doom game under lock and key, but if the testimonies from people at Quakecon are anything to go by, we’re in for a hell of a ride. Seems like Id has captured the original bloody, gory over-the-top madness of the original two games, while still making it look damn good.

THE AAA BUBBLE IS FINALLY SHOWING SIGNS OF POPPING

Destiny only got middling reviews. The newest Call of Duty was shrugged off. Battlefield Hardline is getting roasted by everyone thanks to godawful timing. Watch_Dogs was a flop, and Assassin’s Creed Unity was so goddamn awful that Ubisoft is now more hated than even EA. When Dorito Pope Geoff Keighley’s awards show rolled around, the only AAA games worthy of Game of the Year were jack and shit, and jack had been cancelled. Even in Japan, people decided that no, a third Final Fantasy XIII was not needed. Gamers are finally getting tired of the same bland, generic product that AAA companies are trying to feed them.

GREAT YEAR FOR INDIE RELEASES

We saw a wonderful array of indie games being released that did a lot with a little. Nidhogg in particular stands out, along with Dustforce, Banished, Mercenary Kings, Octodad: Dadliest Catch, Wasteland 2, Xenonauts, Shovel Knight, Five Nights at Freddy’s and the sequel all stand out as great indie games that came out. In addition, established indie darlings Terraria and FTL got massive amounts of new content.

PHIL FISH QUITS GAMES FOREVER

Need I say more?

HATRED ANNOUNCED AND IS ON STEAM TO STAY

I’ve been working on a blog post to further elaborate how I feel about this, but let me make my feelings clear: Hatred is exactly what gaming needs. It’s a brutal rejection of pretentious academia-sponsored games, as well as generic corporate games. It’s going where no one else is willing to go and breaking barriers no one wants to touch. Initially the game was pulled from Steam Greenlight, however it was through the divine will of Gaben himself that the game was reinstated to be overwhelmingly greenlit. I’ve thought about interviewing the devs in regards to the influence of black metal on their game, but given Polygon’s massive hate boner for them, I think now isn’t a good time to be talking to crazy far-right bastards anyway.

PATRICK KLEPEK LEAVES GIANT BOMB

Okay I just found this out now, but fuck Patrick. He’s a whiny little shit that contributes nothing of value to games as a whole. It’s not even his personal politics- he’s just an irritating little child. Everything he did with GiantBomb was just a pathetic plea for validation. His only worth was being a non-stop target of mockery for our lord and savior SmegmaKing, and even that was getting a little old. He’s easily the worst member of Giant Bomb and now that he’s gone I might consider watching their stuff again.

#GAMERGATE

I’ve written a good deal about #GamerGate, and I tweet even more about it. But to make a long story short, #GamerGate is exactly what I think this industry needs. Certainly the progressivism engrained into media will never be purged, but at the very least the more radical, virulent strains of it will be phased out in favor of more safe, consumer-friendly elements. I think that will make a more pleasant, healthy environment for everyone.

THIS BLOG STARTED

20141121_195259

Hail to the king, baby.

So yeah, 2014 was a great year, and I’m looking forward to another great one! Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to get blackout drunk and say silly things on /duck/.

Leave a Reply

